General Manners

by Nitin M

If you’re a resident of the UAE and own a mobile phone here, then you are very likely to be familiar with the random SMS spam that is prevalent.

Not a day goes by when I am not being invited to a club night featuring some DJ with no vowels in his name or offered the chance to win 10 kg of gold or some such time wasting promotion.

Recently one of our local telecom providers, Etisalat has offered us the option of blocking promotional messages from them.

I’m still waiting for the day I can block above mentioned clubs and jewellery stores, among many.

So, it was no surprise that I received an SMS from General Motors stating that they would like to communicate with me via SMS. However, the breath of fresh air was in the remainder of the message where they gave me the option to opt-out of receiving such messages.

While I am a fan of some of GM’s recent works including the Cadillac CTS and the iconic Chevrolet Corvette, I decided to opt-out to see if it actually works.

Although I haven’t received a message confirming my opting out, I will wait to see if I get any promotional messages and whether the opting out was effective.

Having said that, I am encouraged that there are some responsible marketers out there who respect the privacy and time of their target customers.

Now, if only Zinc, Chi and their ilk would follow suit.

